Corning, IBM, SAIC, TE Connectivity, Tellabs, Zhone and 3M have formed an association to promote the use of passive optical network (PON) technology in local area networks (LANs).

The adoption of passive optical LANs, replacing copper-based Ethernet, would represent a revolutionary change for the IT industry, as well as for every company that provides business services, and thus the need for an organization to encourage the transition.

The Association for Passive Optical LAN (APOLAN) was formed to make the case that passive optical LAN technology provides the simplicity, scale and bandwidth to address current and future demand, while minimizing costly and disruptive cabling and equipment upgrades.

In addition, passive optical LAN can deliver substantial savings in capital and operational costs over traditional workgroup switch-based LAN architectures, the group argues. Significant savings can be realized in almost every aspect of an implementation, including equipment costs, power, cooling, installation and floor space. The group also contends that passive optical LAN is the optimized means to deliver voice, video, data, wireless access, security and high-performance building automation.  

"Participation in the APOLAN is open to all organizations interested in leveraging passive optical LAN to revolutionize the way local area networks are designed, deployed, and managed," said Dave Cunningham, president and chairman of the APOLAN. "The deployments of Passive Optical LAN to date have demonstrated significant cost and performance advantages compared to traditional Ethernet designs, and the optical foundation "future-proofs" the network for any new bandwidth demand – a clear advantage over existing copper solutions."

APOLAN’s executives are:

President:  Dave E. Cunningham, Corning
Vice President:  John W. Short, IBM
Secretary:  Joseph D. Marmion, Tellabs
Treasurer:  John Winship, SAIC

Board of Directors
Board Chairman:  Dave E. Cunningham, Corning
Board Chair-Elect:  S. Blaine Overstreet, SAIC
Director:  Jeffery H. Jones, IBM
Director:  Ryland J. Marek, 3M
Director:  Thomas C. Ruvarac, Tellabs
Director:  Brian O'Connell, TE Connectivity
Director: Brian Caskey, Zhone