The Society of Cable Telecommunications Engineers handed out its prestigious chapter awards during its SCTE Chapter Leadership Conference (CLC) 2011 last week in Tampa Bay.

In addition to the chapter awards, the SCTE said CLC 2011 provided 146 chapter leaders, who represented a majority of the SCTE's 71 chapters and meeting groups, with an educational leadership program specifically geared to the issues most important to SCTE chapter leaders.

This year more than one-third of the CLC participants were first-time attendees. CLC 2011 honored chapters and chapter leaders who had achieved a high level of success by presenting them with the SCTE Chapter Awards for 2010.

The Golden Gate Chapter was named SCTE Chapter of the Year, while Powell Bedgood of the Emerald Coast Chapter was honored as SCTE Chapter Member of the Year.

Bedgood is the Emerald Coast Chapter's secretary. He is vice president of engineering with Mediacom Communications Corp. in Pace, Fla.

SCTE also presented awards for second through eighth place in the SCTE Chapter of the Year category. Those honorees were, in order, the Sierra Chapter, the Red Rock Chapter, the Cactus Chapter, the Lighthouse Chapter, the Southern California Chapter, the San Diego Chapter and the Llano Estacado Chapter.

The SCTE presented its Most Improved Chapter of the Year Award, as well, which went to the Desert Chapter.

The SCTE Compliance Award recipient was the Golden Gate Chapter. The Most Improved Chapter (Compliance) was the Chattahoochee Chapter.

The SCTE Professional Development Award recipient was the Golden Gate Chapter. The Most Improved Chapter (Professional Development) was the Ark-La-Tex Chapter.

The SCTE Recruitment Award recipient was the Desert Chapter. The Most Improved Chapter (Recruitment) was the Badger State Chapter.

The SCTE Striving for Excellence Award recipient was the Sierra Chapter. The Most Improved Chapter (Striving for Excellence) was the Smokey Mountain Chapter.

The Compliance, Professional Development, Recruitment and Striving for Excellence awards were earned based on an objective points system for each award.

Combining the points earned for those four award categories determined the Chapter of the Year Award recipients, while the Chapter Member of the Year Award was determined by nominations.