The Society of Cable Telecommunications Engineers has announced the slate of candidates for the SCTE’s board of directors election 2010:

Region 3 Director (representing Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Oregon, Washington)

• Bailey Shewchuk, vice president and general manager of Arris
• Steve Taber, vice president of engineering and technical operations at Comcast Cable Communications

Region 4 Director (representing Oklahoma and Texas)

• Daniel Karnish, director of western operations at Cox Communications
• Leslie W. Read, owner of Read Broadband Services

Region 5 Director (representing Iowa, Illinois, Kansas, Missouri and Nebraska)

• Rick Sullivan, Midwestern sales account manager for Times Fiber Amphenol (incumbent)
• Sean Gallagher, director of engineering at Charter Communications

Region 7 Director (representing Indiana, Michigan and Ohio)

• Mary Gilliland, senior sales manager at CommScope (incumbent)
• Joseph Jensen, executive vice president/CTO at Buckeye CableSystem

Region 8 Director (representing Alabama, Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi and Tennessee)

• Brian Hemmings, regional sales representative at Southern Sales Group
• Tommy Hill, director of area operations at Mediacom Communications

Region 10 Director (representing Washington, D.C., Kentucky, North Carolina, Virginia and West Virginia)

• Robert Legg Jr., vice president of technical operations at Suddenlink Communications (incumbent)
• James Kersnowski, vice president of technology integration video support at Time Warner Cable

Region 12 Director (representing Connecticut, Massachusetts, Maine, New Hampshire, New York, Rhode Island and Vermont)

• Bob Foote, vice president of sales for major markets at TriNet Communications (incumbent)
• Susan Adams, senior vice president of engineering/technical operations at Comcast Cable Communications

Director-At-Large Canada (representing SCTE’s Canadian members)

• Boris Eventov, director of digital video engineering at Cogeco Cable
• Tony Faccia, vice president of wireline access networks at Rogers Cable Communications
• Bruce Marshall, technical director at Shaw Cablesystems

Director-At-Large (representing all SCTE members) (two candidates elected here)

• Dick Amell, vice president of engineering at Time Warner Cable (incumbent)
• Dick Green, president of Richard R. Green and Associates
• Alan Tschirner, vice president of technology and engineering at the NCTC

SCTE members can cast their votes online May 15 to July 30. Newly elected directors will take office to begin their two-year terms on Oct. 19 in conjunction with the SCTE Cable-Tec Expo 2010, which is set for Oct. 20-22 in New Orleans.

More Broadband Direct 5/03/10:
•  Cox Business enables free Wi-Fi hotspots in R.I.
•  Dish Network picks Widevine to aid TV Everywhere launch
•  Clearwire beaming WiMAX in central Pa.
•  Arris, Clearleap team up on VOD advertising
•  German MSO offers 100M service
•  Comcast kicks in 3 more HD channels in northern Calif.
•  Concurrent enhances 3-screen capabilities
•  Motorola demos new, possibly better LTE version
•  SCTE, NCTA, CableLabs combo on tech program
•  Ensequence survey: Interactive apps gaining traction with viewers
•  JDSU closes Agilent LTE testing purchase
•  SCTE announces 2010 board candidates
•  Shaw buys Goldman's stake in Canwest
•  Apple sells 1M iPads, outdoing first iPhone
•  Apple shutting Lala; `Cloud' music on horizon?