The Cable Center has announced the members of its 2008 Cable Hall of Fame Honorary Committee, which comprises 13 cable industry leaders.

The committee will be chaired by Joshua Sapan, the president and CEO of Rainbow Media Holdings. The 11th-annual Cable Hall of Fame celebration will be held Oct. 16 at the Colorado Convention Center, in conjunction with Cable Days.

The committee members, who will serve as the official ambassadors for the Cable Hall of Fame event and The Cable Center, include:

  • Ann Carlsen – founder and CEO of Carlsen Resources
  • Sandy Colony – senior vice president of corporate communications for Insight Communications
  • Pat Esser – president of Cox Communications
  • Marwan Fawaz – CTO of Charter Communications
  • Mark Kang – vice president of affiliate relations for The Sportsman Channel
  • Ken Lowe – chairman of the board, president and CEO of Scripps Networks Interactive
  • Greg Liptak – president of Western Media Group
  • Mike Pohl – former president of global strategy at C-Cor
  • Steve Raymond – senior vice president of national accounts for Disney & ESPN Media Networks
  • Les Read – executive director of Cable Pioneers
  • Joshua Sapan – president and CEO of Rainbow Media Holdings
  • Peter Stern – executive vice president and chief strategy officer for Time Warner Cable
  • David Van Valkenburg – chairman of Balfour Associates

More Broadband Direct:

• Broadcom A-D video chip powers set-tops for Comcast

• Migration to IPv6 moving slowly

• Qwest reaches tentative agreements with 2 unions

• 2008 Cable Hall of Fame Honorary Committee members announced

• Widevine's DRM solution selected by CinemaNow

• Pew: TV news audience stable, online news audience increasing

• Broadband Briefs for 8/18/08