It's that time of the year again for the Society of Cable Telecommunications Engineers - the cable technology association has issued the list of candidates for its 2006 board of directors.

Ten seats on the 17-member board are up for grabs, and this year's crop will include quite a few new faces. Of the 29 candidates in the running, only eight are existing board members seeking re-election.

Election results will be announced April 3, and new directors will take office during ceremonies at the 2006 SCTE Cable-Tec Expo June 20-23 in Denver.

The candidates include:

Region 3, representing Alaska, Idaho, Montana, Oregon and Washington: Sean Bristol, Comcast Cable Communications; incumbent Keith Grunberg, Charter Communications; and Frank Park, Bresnan Communications.

Region 4, representing Oklahoma and Texas: Glenn Fuller, Cox Communications; Donald Gall, Pangrac & Associates; and incumbent Bob Macioch, Time Warner.

Region 5, representing Indiana, Illinois, Kansas, Missouri and Nebraska: William L. Beckhoff, Mediacom; incumbent Vicki Marts, Cox Communications; and Tim Templeton, Sunflower Broadband.

Region 7, representing Indiana, Michigan and Ohio: incumbent Marc Broadnax, Comcast Cable Communications; Jim Brown, Buckeye Cable Systems; and Thomas Williams, Adelphia Communications.

Region 8, representing Alabama, Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi and Tennessee: Wayne Callihan, Systems Services; Tommy Hill, Mediacom; and Roger Penny, Cox Communications.

Region 10, representing the District of Columbia, Kentucky, North Carolina, Virginia and West Virginia: Marcie Anderson, Cox Communications; and incumbent Steve Johnson, Time Warner.

Region 12, representing Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New York, Rhode Island and Vermont: Alan Amato, Times Fiber; Mark Galvin, Whaleback Systems; and Deane Olmsted, Corning.

Director-At-Large, with two seats open: incumbent Walt Ciciora, Technology Consultants; Mary Gilliland, CommScope; incumbent Yvette Gordon-Kanouff, SeaChange International; Patrick O'Hare, Comcast Cable Communications; Jim Oldham, Trilogy; Randy Reynard, ARRIS Inc.

Director-At-Large Canada: Brian Couves, Persona; incumbent Dermot O'Carroll, Rogers Cable; and Ian Oliver, IBI Group.