The Society of Cable Telecommun-ications Engineers, citing a 30 percent increase in voters thanks to a new online voting option, announced the winners of its 2003 board of directors election.

The newly-elected members are:

Region 1 Director: Tom Maguire, CommScope (representing California, Hawaii and Nevada). He defeated Patrick Murphy of Charter Communications and Rick Young of Cisco Systems Inc.

Region 2 Director: Herb Dougall III, Cox Communications (representing Arizona, Colorado, New Mexico, Utah and Wyoming). He won over Richard Rohm of CableOne.

Region 6 Director: William J. Davis, Communications Supply Group Inc. (representing Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota and Wisconsin). He beat out Larry Dodd of Midcontinent Communications.

Region 9 Director: Eugene M. White, Bright House Networks (representing Florida, Georgia, South Carolina and the U.S. Caribbean). He defeated Stephen Brazil of Communications Equipment International and incumbent Keith Hayes of GTS.

Region 11 Director: Wayne Hall, Comcast Cable Communications (representing Delaware, Maryland, New Jersey and Pennsylvania). He beat Rudy Niznansky of Rohde & Schwarz Inc. and Jeff Shearer of Adelphia.

Directors-At-Large (representing all SCTE members) elected were: Terry M. Cordova of Cequel III and Sally L. Kinsman, Kinsman Design Associates LLC. They won over Thomas Elliot of TGE and Associates; Marwan Fawaz of Adelphia (formerly Vulcan Inc.); Justin Junkus of KnowledgeLink Inc.; and Ronald Page of Adelphia.

The newly-elected Society members took office at last month's Cable-Tec Expo in Philadelphia.