The Society of Cable Telecommunications Engineers announced the candidates for the organization's 2003 board of directors election. SCTE said it will distribute paper ballots in January, but, for the first time, the Society will allow members to vote online.

SCTE plans to announce the election results in April, with newly-elected directors taking office during the 2003 Cable-Tec Expo, which will kick off May 11 in Philadelphia, Pa.

By region, the candidates are:

Region 1 (representing California, Hawaii and Nevada):

Tom Maguire, CommScope

Patrick Murphy, Charter Communications

Rick Young, Cisco Systems

Region 2 (representing Arizona, Colorado, New Mexico, Utah and Wyoming):

Herb Dougall III, Cox Communications

Richard Rohm, Cable One

Region 6 (representing Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota and Wisconsin):

William J. Davis, Communications Supply Group Inc.

Larry Dodd, Midcontinent Communications

Region 9 (representing Florida, Georgia, South Carolina and the U.S. Caribbean):

Stephen R. Brazil, Communications Equipment International

Keith Hayes, Gilbert Technical Services

Eugene M. White, Advance Newhouse/Time Warner Cable

Region 11 (representing Delaware, Maryland, New Jersey and Pennsylvania):

Wayne Hall, Comcast Cable Communications

Rudy Niznansky, Rohde & Schwarz

Jeff Shearer, Adelphia Communications

At-Large (two seats, representing all members):

Terry M. Cordova, Charter Communications

Tom Elliot, TGE and Associates

Marwan Fawaz, Vulcan Inc.

Justin J. Junkus, KnowledgeLink Inc.

Sally L. Kinsman, Motorola BCS

Ronald N. Page, Adelphia Communications