Hamilton-Piercy Nobles
Kuhns Pangrac
(Clockwise from top left):
Hamilton-Piercy, Nobles, Pangrac and Kuhns took home special awards.
A retired but still effervescent Les Read held court at this year's Expo annual awards luncheon, naming the 2002 Member of the Year, inducting three new members to the SCTE Hall of Fame and recognizing a spate of additional award winners.

Pam Nobles, director of technical learning and development for Comcast Cable Communications, was the recipient of the 2002 Member of the Year Award, which recognizes a Society member who has made the most significant contributions to the organization. Among her accomplishments, Nobles was recognized for playing a key role in revamping SCTE's suite of industry certifications.

SCTE also inducted three new Hall of Fame members: Jim Kuhns, director of field support for Terayon Communication Systems; David Pangrac, president of Pangrac & Associates; and Nick Hamilton-Piercy, the "retired" vice president and chief technology officer for Canada's Rogers Cable Inc.

Hamilton-Piercy remarked on cable's fraternal environment, saying, "I don't think you can retire from our industry... You're always part of it." The former CED Man of the Year and NCTA Vanguard Award for Science and Technology recipient is a member of the SCTE Engineering Committee and a member of the CableLabs Technical Advisory Committee.

Pangrac, who spearheaded Time Warner Cable's HFC architecture development at Time Warner Cable, was last year named the inaugural winner of the Star of Integrity, an award sponsored by CED, and Multichannel News that recognizes individuals who have displayed exceptional innovation in the development of emerging technology over HFC networks.

Kuhns also came away with the distinction of the 2002 SCTE Fellow Member.

A former SCTE board chairman, he was recognized for his work in helping the Society with its international efforts, as well as his earlier work on two software applications for plant design and analysis.

Separately, Keith Hayes, SCTE's newly re-elected chairman, revealed this year's Chairman Award winner: Armstrong Utilities. Hayes said he recognized Armstrong for its support of the Society's goals and for tying certifications to pay structure for its employees. The Society also honored CommScope's Tom Maguire of the Sierra Chapter as its 2002 Leadership Circle Award winner, recognizing him for exhibiting "outstanding leadership, enabling the chapter, affiliate or meeting group to achieve its goals." On the academic front, SCTE recognized Ashvin Mysore as the 2002 recipient of the Milton Jerrold Shapp Memorial Scholarship, named after the founder of Jerrold Electronics. Mysore, a senior at Fairview High School in Boulder, Colo., will receive a $20,000 scholarship over four years. The scholarship is funded by Motorola.