Comcast puts execs in place for new field divisions

Fri, 12/03/2010 - 7:25am
Mike Robuck

Effective this week, Comcast shuffled some of its key divisional executives into their new roles as part of the cable operator's plan to go from four field divisions to three.

Comcast previously had four divisions: the West, East, South and North Central. The new divisions are now the West, Central and Northeast. Comcast realigned the divisions for geographical and competitive reasons, as well as for improved operational efficiencies that should lead to quicker product launches and better customer service.

"This structure will help us move even faster to bring new products and services to market quickly, to innovate and differentiate our products, and to continue to improve our customers' experience," said Comcast spokeswoman Beth Bacha. "The new structure also helps us become even more competitively aligned in geographic areas and divisions."

While the integration process will take months to finalize, the new leadership of two of the three divisions went into effect this week. Kevin Casey, who had led the former North Central division, is now president of the Northeast division.

Bill Connors, who was at the helm of the East division, is now president of the Atlanta-based Central division, while Steve White continues in his role as president of the West division. Former South division president John Ridall is retiring at the end of this year.

On the competitive front, the Northeast division largely goes head-to-head with Verizon, while the Central division is now better aligned to compete with AT&T.

The previous East division, which included the Beltway, Freedom and Keystone regions, was combined with the New England portion of what had been Comcast's North Central division to create the Northeast division. The Northeast division also includes the greater Boston area, Washington, D.C., Pittsburgh, parts of Connecticut, Virginia, New Jersey and New Hampshire.

The West division now includes the Houston area, along with its current roster of Western cities such as Denver, Seattle and San Francisco.

The Central division is now composed of the former South division, plus three properties from the former North Central division: Michigan, Indianapolis and Chicago.


Share This Story

You may login with either your assigned username or your e-mail address.
The password field is case sensitive.