NCTA elects Cox’s Esser as chairman of board

Tue, 05/18/2010 - 8:40am
Mike Robuck

The National Cable & Telecommunications Association announced yesterday that Cox Communications President Pat Esser was elected as the chairman of its board of directors.

The election took place at last week’s The Cable Show in Los Angeles. In addition to Esser being elected chairman, Time Warner Cable President and CEO Glenn Britt was elected vice chairman, while Comcast Chairman and CEO Brian Roberts was voted in as treasurer. Abbe Raven, A&E Television’s president and CEO, was elected secretary.

The NCTA also formed its executive committee for 2010-11. It included Tom Rutledge, COO of Cablevision, as the immediate past chairman of the NCTA board; the newly elected officers; and NCTA President and CEO Kyle McSlarrow, in an ex officio role.

The following were also named to the executive committee:

  • Rocco Commisso, chairman and CEO of Mediacom Communications
  • Philippe Dauman, president and CEO of Viacom
  • Ronald Duncan, president and CEO of GCI
  • Jerry Kent, chairman and CEO of Suddenlink Communications
  • Mike Lovett, president and CEO of Charter Communications
  • Bob Miron, chairman of Advance/Newhouse Communications
  • Michael Willner, vice chairman and CEO of Insight Communications

Other board elections included:

  • Associate director: Frank Drendel, chairman and CEO CommScope, was reelected to serve a two-year term.
  • At-large programmer directors: Ken Lowe, chairman of the board, president and CEO at Scripps Networks Interactive; Matt Blank, chairman and CEO of Showtime Networks; and Judy McGrath, chairman and CEO of MTV Networks, were elected to serve two-year terms.
  • At-large system directors: Ronald Duncan, president and CEO of GCI, and Jim Pearson, president and CEO of U.S. Cable, were reelected to serve three-year terms.
  • Rural/small system director: In March 2010, Richard Sjoberg, president and CEO of Sjoberg’s, was reelected for another two years.
  • Amy Tykeson, CEO of BendBroadband, was named chair of the Rural/Small System Operators’ Committee for another two-year term.

The NCTA said the other director positions weren’t up for reelection.

More Broadband Direct 5/18/10:
•  NCTA elects Cox's Esser as chairman of board
•  New pricing: Verizon takes aim at Bright House subs in Tampa
•  Canoe Ventures lines up 4 partners for interactive ad launch
•  Suddenlink increases RGUs, narrows losses
•  AT&T offers discount for four-product bundle
•  FiOS, U-verse lead customer satisfaction ratings
•  Cisco buys hip little design shop
•  Best Buy's Internet video service ready to debut
•  Report: Threat of being a 'dump pipe' overrated



Share This Story

You may login with either your assigned username or your e-mail address.
The password field is case sensitive.