Cable Hall of Fame Class of ‘09 revealed

Wed, 03/25/2009 - 8:15am
Traci Patterson

The Cable Center has unveiled the members of The Cable Hall of Fame Class of 2009. 

The seven new inductees are: 

  • Char Beales, president and CEO of CTAM
  • Matthew C. Blank, chairman and CEO of Showtime Networks
  • James S. Cownie, co-founder and past president of Heritage Communications
  • Robert W. Hughes, founder of Prime Cable and chairman of Prime II Ventures
  • Tom Rutledge, COO at Cablevision
  • Bernard Shaw, CNN anchor emeritus
  • Tom Wheeler, managing director of Core Capital Partners

The seven members will be inducted into the Cable Hall of Fame during Cable Connections – Fall in Denver, Colo., which is set for Oct. 25-30. The 12th-annual Cable Hall of Fame celebration will be held on Oct. 27 at the Colorado Convention Center.

The honorees were chosen based on their leadership, dedication, and impact on the cable industry and their communities, The Cable Center said.

More Broadband Direct 03/25/09:

•  Rhodes promoted to publisher at CED
•  Feds sue Dish Network over do not call complaints
•  Blockbuster to sell, rent movies through TiVo
•  Sprint outlines next U.S. 4G markets
•  Entropic trims workforce by 18%
•  Cisco's CDS supercharges Numericable's network
•  Edgeware, Ericsson team up for advanced VOD
•  German MSO picks Camiant
•  Arris, OpenTV to demo localized advertising at Cable Show
•  iCueTV, itaas team up for t-commerce at Cable Show
•  Cable Show's public policy schedule unveiled
•  Cable Hall of Fame Class of '09 revealed
•  CTAM: Subs cocooning more
•  Start-up's streamed video games coming to the TV
•  Broadband Briefs for 03/25/09



Share This Story

You may login with either your assigned username or your e-mail address.
The password field is case sensitive.