SCTE gourmands fete Gorman, new chairman, hall of famer

Thu, 06/21/2007 - 9:05am
Traci Patterson

The SCTE Cable-Tec Expo Annual Awards Luncheon began with the transfer of a "very used gavel," as termed by the outgoing chairman of the board of the SCTE, Yvette Kanouff, CSO at SeaChange International.

Kanouff passed the baton to Tom Gorman, the VP of operations engineering at Charter Communications, who was elected to the role on Tuesday. Gorman, who recognized that people are probably getting tired of seeing his face everywhere, was also inducted into the SCTE Hall of Fame.

Ronald Brunt, president of the SCTE's West Virginia Mountaineer Chapter, was named Member of the Year for nearly single-handedly resurrecting the struggling chapter. Brunt is currently a systems engineer with Deployment Technologies Inc.

Kanouff handed Sally Kinsman the Chairman's Award. Kinsman is Aurora Networks' national account director and a nearly 30-year SCTE vet.

Brenda Hunt of Cox Communications was named Chapter Member of the Year or 2006; the Mount Rainier, New England and Cactus chapters received first, second and third place, respectively, for Chapter of the Year; System of the Year went to Cox Communications Orange County; Carolyn Terry of Time Warner Cable was given the Women in Technology award; Steven R. Harris of Comcast University landed the Excellence in Cable Telecommunications Learning and Development award; and Mark Eyer of Sony Electronics snagged the Excellence in Standards award.


Share This Story

You may login with either your assigned username or your e-mail address.
The password field is case sensitive.