Play it again, Yvette

Wed, 06/21/2006 - 7:37am
Brian Santo, CED

DENVER – Meet the new boss, same as the old boss. Yvette Gordon-Kanouff will serve a second term as chair of the SCTE board. In her day job, Gordon-Kanouff serves as SVP of strategic planning at SeaChange International. The Society elected the officers of its 2006-2007 board here Tuesday afternoon.

Gordon-Kanouff said one of her key accomplishments over the past year was to help shift the board’s focus to strategy, where traditionally it had spent more time with tactics. “We ought to be looking at future issues, at mega issues, like competition and consolidation,” she said.

By paying more attention to strategy, she said, the SCTE will be in a better position to evaluate its programs and provide more value to SCTE members.

The responsibility for implementing the tactical responses to these forces will fall more and more on SCTE committees, she said.

Another change, she said, is a greater focus on new technologies, and to that end, the SCTE board has set up an engineering advisory committee. The committee is charged with forming contacts with key technologists at the MSOs. By understanding where the MSOs are actually going, the SCTE can focus its own efforts on providing relevant and in-depth services.

The Western Vice Chair will also be a familiar face. Vicki Marts, director of video engineering at Cox Communications, will carry on in that position for a second year in a row.

The Eastern Vice Chair is Steve Johnson, director of engineering and technology at Time Warner Cable. Bob Macioch, also of Time Warner Cable, was re-elected as treasurer.

Rounding out the slate of board officers are Secretary Thomas Gorman of Charter Communications (“I can type fast”), and Wayne Hall of Comcast Communications, who will serve as an alternate officer.

The board of directors had been voted on earlier. Other members include Tom Maguire of CommScope; Frank Eichenlaub of Scientific Atlanta; Keith Grunberg of Charter Communications; Robert Schaeffer of Technology Planners; Marc Broadnax of Comcast; Tommy Hill of Mediacom Communications; Eugene M. White of Bright House Networks; Deane H. Olmsted of Times Fiber Communications; Sally Kinsman of Aurora Networks; Walt Ciciora of Technology Consultants (and regular CED contributor); and Dermot O’Carroll of Rogers Cable.


Share This Story

You may login with either your assigned username or your e-mail address.
The password field is case sensitive.