TCTA completes board, touts cable awards

Mon, 03/04/2002 - 7:00pm
Anne Kerven

The Texas Cable & Telecommunications Association handed out cable awards and announced new board members at its 42nd annual convention and trade show last week.

"There are three classes," says TCTA President Bill Arnold, who is retiring his post. "Class one (directors) are appointed by the companies they represent. Class two are elected."

Class one directors — or those with more than 100,000 subscribers in Texas — include AT&T Broadband's Paula Trustdorf — also board treasurer — and Clem Maddox; Charter Communications' Terry Kennedy; former association Chair Steve Lowe from Classic Cable; Cox Communications' Randy Goad and Connie Wharton; and Bill Carey, Tom Kinney, Johnny Mankin, Ron McMillan — also board chair — and Navarra Williams, all from Time Warner Cable.

In the midrange sub level — or between 9,999 and 100,000 subscribers in the state — fall class two directors, including Chris Hazelip; Robert Durham of Longview Cable, who also is board secretary, and Jerry Smith at CMA Cablevision.

Bringing up the rear at fewer than 9,999 subs is David Mooney of Gilmer Cable, the sole class three director.

M.J. Jackson of AFL Telecommunications Inc. and Mark Solow of The Inspiration Networks are associate directors.

No members are new, Arnold says, but some were re-elected by TCTA members in the categories they represent.

The event also hosted the 10th annual Project Community Award, honoring cable operator who showed exemplary leadership in the development and implementation of programs that benefit the communities they serve, the association says.

Among the winners: AT&T Broadband — Dallas Region, Charter Communications — Fort Worth and Cox Communications' East Texas region. Cox's Lubbock, Midland, Abilene, Lufkin and Nacogdoches units also received the award, as did Grand Communications. Time Warner Cable's divisions in Beaumont/Port Arthur, El Paso, Houston, Kerrville, Killeen, Rio Grande Valley, San Antonio and Waco likewise landed the recognition.

TWC's Waco unit also received The Best of Texas Kim Curlin award for the project scoring highest with judges and its Killeen system won the Lone Star Judges award for providing educational opportunities to the area, the association says.

Finally, Bennett W. Hooks Jr. received the John Mankin Award, given annually in honor of the association's co-founder and first executive director, John E. Mankin Sr., also the award's first winner, in 1972. TCTA was founded in 1959.

The Mankin award honors a member who demonstrates the leadership and personal commitment to the industry that Mankin did, and is TCTA's highest recognition, Arnold says.

Hooks has been in the cable industry since starting as an installer for Daniels and Associates in 1967. He presently is a partner and CEO of Buford Media Group, which does business as Alliance Communications.


Share This Story

You may login with either your assigned username or your e-mail address.
The password field is case sensitive.